top of page
BUDDY MIGRANTS PRIMARY.png

BUILDING INCLUSIVE COMMUNITIES THROUGH INTERCULTURAL EDUCATION IN SCHOOLS

Did you know that around 8% of the European Union's population, which equals approximately 34 million inhabitants, were born outside of the EU? Unfortunately, many non-EU born adults seeking connection to the labor market, lack a high level of education, and young migrants are more likely to drop out of school and be at risk of poverty or social exclusion. With this project, we strive to support schools in their potential as hubs for integration and therefore the development of an inclusive society.  

 

The BuddyMigrants project has two main objectives. Firstly, it aims to address the barriers that newly-arrived third country national families face when accessing social services such as education, healthcare, employment, and information. Secondly, it aims to promote inclusive environments that foster social inclusion, equity, and equality, and respond to the needs of the wider communities in the project countries.

The project's priorities are to raise awareness of European Union common values and principles among newly-arrived TCN families, encourage their participation in democratic life, and help them overcome difficulties in actively engaging and participating in their communities. Additionally, BuddyMigrants aims to develop the social and intercultural competences and critical thinking of teachers, parents, and children, and offer opportunities for participation in social and civic engagement through formal and non-formal learning activities.

The project achieves its objectives by developing a tailor-made pedagogical toolkit for the inclusion of intercultural dimensions into the formal learning process, including a curriculum for the development of intercultural competences of teachers, the creation of inclusive local groups of families for social inclusion, support for local actions by these groups, and the creation of a wide network consisting of local groups for strengthening peer learning.      

Impact

  • Increased capacities of teachers in integrating the intercultural and global citizenship dimension in their teaching approach and in teaching in multicultural classrooms 

  • Increased knowledge of EU native parents and students about inequalities and cultural diversity 

  • Increased mobilization of parents and students in actions which promote social inclusiveness 

  • Increased capacity of project partners to work transnationally to provide quality intercultural and global citizenship education

Project Results:

1)  Pedagogical toolkit and curriculum for teachers - A handbook for teachers, which will be a collection of 
a) scientific publications, of official policy and technical documents on education
b) educational courses, tool-kits, platforms and portals, 
c) best educational practices, 
d) educational projects, programmes, and initiatives, organised in a proper way and presented in a comprehensive,  coherent, and consolidated way.  The indicative thematic areas are intercultural education, global citizenship education, human rights education, education for sustainable development.

 

A first draft of the curriculum, ready to be piloted, which will consist of 4 parts 
1) analysis of the theoretical concepts, terms, and methodologies and pedagogies related to intercultural and global citizenship education and teaching in multicultural and multilingual classrooms; 
2) information (evidence-based and theoretical) about topics such as migration and mobility of people, social inclusion and protection, discrimination,
inequalities and equal opportunities; 
3) learning course whose objective is to build the competences of teachers on the above topics (train-the-teachers), 
4) Activities to carry out at school and resources for teachers, i.e., objectives, step-by-step

The first three parts will be common to all project countries. The last part, i.e., the activities, will be tailor made to each country, considering the specific education systems and the priorities and capacities of the partners.

The final version of the curriculum, which will be the final curriculum after the piloting and the incorporation of feedback provided by the involved teachers, who are expected to "co-create" the content.

2) Online educational platform - This work package results in the development of an online educational platform with the following functionalities: 
1) the new curriculum for teachers, consisting of 5 parts

2) a section with content/results from the activities of the curriculum that the teachers implemented with their students 

3) a section with content/results from the local actions implemented by the local networks

4) a section to enable the registered visitors to interact and contribute with new content, like forums, blogs, social networking, digital libraries, sharing and authoring tools and chat rooms. This section will enable the interaction between
local networks' members, between local networks in the same country, and between local networks across countries.

5) other functionalities which can be added upon feedback by teachers and parents.

Along with the desktop version of the platform, the development team of the project will make the platform's content and structure transferable to mobile phones through a mobile application. Both the "desktop" version and the mobile application will be freely and openly accessible to all interested users.

3) Inclusive local networks and local actions - The main results of this Work Package refer to the establishment of local networks of EU native and TCN (third country national) parents who will be meeting regularly, share their concerns, learn from each other, and subsequently build friendly relationships based on mutual respect of different cultures.

Consortium

The consortium that develops this project consists of 6 partners, from 5 countries:

 

Blenders (Belgium)

The Square Dot Team (Belgium)

Synthesis Center for Research and Education (Cyprus)

Drustvo Za Razvijanje Prostovoljnega Dela Novo Mesto (Slovenia)

InterAktion (Austria)

Innovation Hive (Greece)

Project Number: 2022-1-BE02-KA220-SCH-000086016

Project Duration:  1.09.2022 - 31.08.2024

EN Co-funded by the EU_POS.jpg
This publication has been funded with support from the European Commission. The authors alone are responsible for the content of this publication; the Commission shall not be held responsible for any further use that may be made of the information contained therein.
bottom of page

top of page
BUDDY MIGRANTS PRIMARY.png

AUFBAU INKLUSIVER GEMEINSCHAFTEN DURCH INTERKULTURELLE BILDUNG IN SCHULEN

Wussten Sie, dass etwa 8 % der Bevölkerung der Europäischen Union, d. h. rund 34 Millionen Einwohner, außerhalb der EU geboren wurden? Leider haben viele Erwachsene, die nicht in der EU geboren sind und den Anschluss an den Arbeitsmarkt suchen, kein hohes Bildungsniveau, und bei jungen Migrant:innen ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit größer, dass sie die Schule abbrechen und von Armut oder sozialer Ausgrenzung bedroht sind. Mit diesem Projekt wollen wir Schulen in ihrem Potenzial als Drehscheiben für die Integration und damit für die Entwicklung einer inklusiven Gesellschaft unterstützen.

 

Das BuddyMigrants-Projekt hat zwei Hauptziele. Erstens sollen die Hindernisse beseitigt werden, mit denen neu zugewanderte Familien aus Drittstaaten beim Zugang zu sozialen Diensten wie Bildung, Gesundheitsversorgung, Beschäftigung und Information konfrontiert sind. Zweitens soll ein integratives Umfeld gefördert werden, das die soziale Eingliederung, Gleichberechtigung und Gleichstellung unterstützt und den Bedürfnissen der breiteren Gemeinschaften in den Projektländern gerecht wird.

Die Prioritäten des Projekts bestehen darin, neu zugewanderte Familien aus Drittländern für die gemeinsamen Werte und Grundsätze der Europäischen Union zu sensibilisieren, sie zur Teilnahme am demokratischen Leben zu ermutigen und ihnen bei der Überwindung von Schwierigkeiten zu helfen, sich aktiv in ihre Gemeinschaften einzubringen und daran teilzunehmen. Darüber hinaus zielt BuddyMigrants darauf ab, die sozialen und interkulturellen Kompetenzen und das kritische Denken von Lehrer:innen, Eltern und Kindern zu entwickeln und Möglichkeiten zur Teilnahme an sozialem und bürgerschaftlichem Engagement durch formale und nicht formale Lernaktivitäten zu bieten.


Das Projekt erreicht seine Ziele durch die Entwicklung eines maßgeschneiderten pädagogischen Instrumentariums für die Einbeziehung interkultureller Dimensionen in den formalen Lernprozess, einschließlich eines Lehrplans für die Entwicklung interkultureller Kompetenzen von Lehrer:innen, die Schaffung integrativer lokaler Gruppen von Familien für die soziale Eingliederung, die Unterstützung lokaler Aktionen durch diese Gruppen und die Schaffung eines breiten Netzwerks aus lokalen Gruppen zur Stärkung des Peer-Learning.                                          

Auswirkungen

  • Verbesserung der Fähigkeiten von Lehrkräften, die Dimension der interkulturellen und globalen Staatsbürgerschaft im Lehransatz und in den Unterricht in multikulturellen Klassenräumen zu integrieren

  • Verbesserte Kenntnisse der Eltern und Schüler*innen aus der EU über Ungleichheiten und kulturelle Vielfalt

  • Verstärkte Mobilisierung von Eltern und Schüler*innen für Aktionen zur Förderung der sozialen Eingliederung

  • Verbesserung der Fähigkeit der Projektpartner, länderübergreifend zu arbeiten, um eine qualitativ hochwertige interkulturelle und weltbürgerliche Bildung anzubieten.

1) Pedagogical toolkit and curriculum for teachers - Ein Handbuch für Lehrerinnen und Lehrer, das eine Sammlung sein wird von 
a) wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen, offiziellen politischen und technischen Dokumenten zur Bildung
b) Bildungskurse, Toolkits, Plattformen und Portale, 
c) bewährte pädagogische Praktiken, 
d) Bildungsprojekte, -programme und -initiativen, die in geeigneter Weise organisiert und in umfassender, kohärenter und konsolidierter Form präsentiert werden.  Die vorgeschlagenen Themenbereiche sind interkulturelle Bildung, Erziehung zu Weltbürgertum, Menschenrechtserziehung und Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung.

Ein erster Entwurf des Lehrplans, der zur Erprobung bereit ist und aus 4 Teilen bestehen wird 
1) Analyse der theoretischen Konzepte, Begriffe, Methoden und Pädagogik im Zusammenhang mit interkultureller und weltbürgerlicher Bildung und dem Unterricht in multikulturellen und mehrsprachigen Klassenzimmern; 
2) Informationen (evidenzbasiert und theoretisch) über Themen wie Migration und Mobilität von Menschen, soziale Integration und Schutz, Diskriminierung,
Ungleichheiten und Chancengleichheit; 
3) Lernkurse, deren Ziel es ist, die Kompetenzen von Lehrer:innen zu den oben genannten Themen aufzubauen (Train-the-Teachers), 
4) Aktivitäten, die in der Schule durchgeführt werden sollen, und Ressourcen für Lehrer:innen, d. h. Ziele, Schritt für Schritt

Die ersten drei Teile sind für alle Projektländer gleich. Der letzte Teil, d. h. die Aktivitäten, wird für jedes Land maßgeschneidert, wobei die spezifischen Bildungssysteme sowie die Prioritäten und Kapazitäten der Partnerorganisationen berücksichtigt werden.

Die endgültige Version des Lehrplans, die nach der Pilotphase und der Einbeziehung des Feedbacks der beteiligten Lehrer:innen, die den Inhalt "mitgestalten" sollen, den endgültigen Lehrplan darstellen wird.

 

2) Online educational platform - Dieses Arbeitspaket resultiert in der Entwicklung einer Online-Bildungsplattform mit den folgenden Funktionalitäten:

1) der neue Lehrplan für Lehrer:innen, bestehend aus 5 Teilen

2) ein Abschnitt mit Inhalten/Ergebnissen aus den Aktivitäten des Lehrplans, die die Lehrer:innen mit ihren Schüler:innen durchgeführt haben 

3) eine Rubrik mit Inhalten/Ergebnissen der von den lokalen Netzwerken durchgeführten lokalen Aktionen

4) einen Bereich, der es den registrierten Besuchern ermöglicht, zu interagieren und neue Inhalte beizusteuern, wie z. B. Foren, Blogs, soziale Netzwerke, digitale Bibliotheken, Tools zur gemeinsamen Nutzung und Erstellung von Inhalten sowie Chatrooms. Dieser Bereich ermöglicht die Interaktion zwischen Mitgliedern lokaler Netzwerke, zwischen lokalen Netzwerken im selben Land und zwischen lokalen Netzwerken in verschiedenen Ländern.

5) weitere Funktionen, die nach Rückmeldung durch Lehrer:innen und Eltern hinzugefügt werden können.

Neben der Desktop-Version der Plattform wird das Entwicklungsteam des Projekts den Inhalt und die Struktur der Plattform durch eine mobile Anwendung auf Mobiltelefone übertragbar machen. Sowohl die "Desktop"-Version als auch die mobile Anwendung werden für alle interessierten Nutzer frei und offen zugänglich sein.

3) Inclusive local networks and local actions - Die wichtigsten Ergebnisse dieses Arbeitspakets beziehen sich auf die Einrichtung lokaler Netzwerke von Eltern aus der EU und aus Drittstaaten, die sich regelmäßig treffen, ihre Anliegen austauschen, voneinander lernen und in der Folge freundschaftliche Beziehungen aufbauen, die auf dem gegenseitigen Respekt der unterschiedlichen Kulturen beruhen.
 

Konsortium
Das Konsortium, das dieses Projekt entwickelt, besteht aus 6 Partnern, die sich auf 5 Länder verteilen:

Blenders (Belgien)
The Square Dot Team (Belgien)
Synthesis Center for Research and Education (Zypern)
Drustvo Za Razvijanje Prostovoljnega Dela Novo Mesto (Slowenien)
InterAktion (Österreich)
Innovation Hive (Griechenland)

Projektnummer: 2022-1-BE02-KA220-SCH-000086016

Projektlaufzeit:  1.09.2022 - 31.08.2024

EN Co-funded by the EU_POS.jpg
Diese Veröffentlichung wurde mit Unterstützung der Europäischen Kommission finanziert. Die Verantwortung für den Inhalt dieser Veröffentlichung tragen alleine die Verfasserinnen und Verfasser; die Kommission haftet nicht für die weitere Verwendung der darin enthaltenen Angaben.
bottom of page