logo_.JPG
EU elections2024.JPG

 

This project addresses important social issues: active citizenship, Euroscepticism, the state of democracy in partner countries, the next EU elections and the future of the EU.

 

Rising Euro-skepticism and distrust in national control structures demotivate people to participate in the election process. The turnout for the elections to the European Parliament in 2014 was 43%, in 2019 it was 51% and in many EU countries the turnout is still below 30%. This project includes six organizations from Slovenia, Croatia, Slovakia, the Czech Republic, Hungary and Austria, which had the lowest voter turnout and an increase in euroscepticism. Project partners will together explore the reasons for the low turnout and develop strategies to fight Euro-skepticism.

Find out more about the project by visiting the project website http://countereuroscepticism.eu/

Please take part in the project by filling out the survey research.

EVENT TK.png

Values on which the European Union is based on

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

Human dignity

Human dignity is inviolable. It must be respected, protected and constitutes the real basis of fundamental rights.

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

Freedom

Freedom of movement gives citizens the right to move and reside freely within the Union. Individual freedoms such as respect for private life, freedom of thought, religion, assembly, expression and information are protected by the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights.

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

Democracy

The functioning of the EU is founded on representative democracy. Being a European citizen also means enjoying political rights. Every adult EU citizen has the right to stand as a candidate and to vote in elections to the European Parliament. EU citizens have the right to stand as candidate and to vote in their country of residence, or in their country of origin.

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

Rule of law

The EU is based on the rule of law. Everything the EU does is founded on treaties, voluntarily and democratically agreed by its EU countries. Law and justice are upheld by an independent judiciary. The EU countries gave final jurisdiction to the European Court of Justice which judgements have to be respected by all.

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

Human Rights

Human rights are protected by the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights. These cover the right to be free from discrimination on the basis of sex, racial or ethnic origin, religion or belief, disability, age or sexual orientation, the right to the protection of your personal data, and or the right to get access to justice.

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

What does it mean

to be an

Active Citizen?

Active citizens do many ‘things’ to improve the lives of others. They contribute to social justice in their community by taking action on issues in order to make a difference. They question the way things are done.Active citizenship can be demonstrated globally, nationally and locally.

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

Equality

Equality is about equal rights for all citizens before the law. The principle of equality between women and men underpins all European policies and is the basis for European integration. It applies in all areas. The principle of equal pay for equal work became part of the Treaty of Rome in 1957. Although inequalities still exist, the EU has made significant progress.

logo_.JPG
EU elections2024.JPG

Dieses Projekt greift bedeutende soziale Fragen auf: Aktive Bürgerschaft, Euroskeptizismus, die Lage der Demokratie in Partnerländern, die nächsten EU-Wahlen und die Zukunft der EU.

Steigender Euroskeptizismus und Misstrauen in nationale Kontrollstrukturen demotivieren Menschen am Wahlvorgang zu partizipieren. Die Wahlbeteiligung zur Wahl des Europäischen Parlaments 2014 betrug 43%, im Jahr 2019 51% und in vielen EU-Ländern beträgt die Wahlbeteiligung noch immer unter 30%. Dieses Projekt beinhaltet sechs Organisationen aus Slowenien, Kroatien, der Slowakei, der Tschechischen Republik, Ungarn und Österreich, die die niedrigste Wahlbeteiligung hatte und einen Anstieg an Euroskeptizismus. Zusammen wird nach Ursachen gesucht und gemeinsame Strategien gegen der EU-Skepsis entwickelt.

Mehr Info zum Projekt finden Sie auf der Projekt-Website: http://countereuroscepticism.eu/

Sie können Ihre Meinung zur EU-Skepsis äußern indem Sie dieses Fragebogen ausfüllen.

Veranstaltungen:

Workshop zum Thema Aktive EU-Bürgerschaft am 11.06.2021 mit Beginn um 09:00 in der Talenteküche Graz, Reininghausstrasse 60

EVENT TK.png

Die Grundwerte der Europäischen Union

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

Menschenwürde

Die Menschenwürde ist unantastbar. Sie ist zu achten, zu schützen und ist die wahre Grundlage der Grundrechte.

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

Freiheit

Bewegungsfreiheit gibt den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern das Recht sich innerhalb der Union frei zu bewegen und zu wohnen. Individuelle Freiheiten wie die Achtung des Privatlebens, Gedankenfreiheit, Religionsfreiheit, Versammlungsfreiheit, Freiheit der Meinungsäußerung und Informationsfreiheit sind durch die Charta der Grundrechte der Europäischen Union geschützt.

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

Demokratie

Die EU basiert auf den Grundsätzen der repräsentativen Demokratie. Eine EU-Bürgerin/EU-Bürger zu sein bedeutet auch politische Rechte zu besitzen. Jede erwachsene EU-Bürgerin / EU-Bürger hat das Recht sich als Kandidat aufstellen zu lassen und bei der Wahl zum Europäischen Parlament seine Stimme abzugeben. EU-BürgerInnen haben das Recht sich in ihrem Aufenthaltsstaat oder in ihrem Herkunftsstaat als Kandidaten aufstellen zu lassen und zu wählen.

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

Rechtsstaatlichkeit

Die EU basiert auf Rechtsstaatlichkeit. Alles, was in der EU geschieht, ist auf Verträgen gegründet, denen die EU-Mitgliedstaaten freiwillig und demokratisch zugestimmt haben. Rechtsstaatlichkeit und Justiz werden von einem unabhängigen Gerichtswesen gewahrt. Die EU-Staaten haben die oberste Gerichtsbarkeit dem Europäischen Gerichtshof übertragen, deren Urteile von allen anerkannt werden müssen.

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

Wahrung der Menschenrechte

Die Menschenrechte sind durch die Charta der Grundrechte der Europäischen Union geschützt. Diese beinhalten das Recht auf Nichtdiskriminierung wegen des Geschlechts, der Rasse, der Hautfarbe, der ethnischen oder sozialen Herkunft, Religion oder Weltanschauung, einer Behinderung, des Alters oder der sexuellen Ausrichtung, das Recht auf Schutz personenbezogener Daten oder auch justizielle Rechte.

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

Was bedeutet es eine

aktive Bürgerin

ein aktiver Bürger

zu sein?

Aktive Bürgerinnen und Bürger tun viele »Sachen«, um das Leben anderer zu verbessern. Sie ragen zu sozialer Gerechtigkeit in ihrer Gemeinschaft bei, indem sie sich aktiv zu Themen beteiligen, um etwas zu verändern. Sie stellen die Dinge infrage.

Aktive Bürgerschaft kann global, national oder lokal stattfinden.

flag_yellow_high_edited.jpg

Was bedeutet es eine

aktive Bürgerin

ein aktiver Bürger

zu sein?

Aktive Bürgerinnen und Bürger tun viele »Sachen«, um das Leben anderer zu verbessern. Sie ragen zu sozialer Gerechtigkeit in ihrer Gemeinschaft bei, indem sie sich aktiv zu Themen beteiligen, um etwas zu verändern. Sie stellen die Dinge infrage.

Aktive Bürgerschaft kann global, national oder lokal stattfinden.