top of page
Black And White Round Border Signature Logo.png

StrengthenIng Language skills,
communication competencies, and
ENhancing resilience of hearing parenTs of
deaf children.

Although more than 90 % of deaf children are born to hearing parents, this group often gets overlooked. We want to empower families and raise awareness for the
struggles that deaf children and their families face.

Parents need advice, information, and they need to learn new skills. Especially in the first months after finding out their child
might be deaf or hard of hearing, they often stand alone. 
The information they are given has a significant impact on the cognitive and
psycho-social health of children later on in their life. Deaf children are often academically at risk, often because they are missing a solid language foundation. Many deaf children are raised only using spoken language, but even if they use technical aids like cochlear implants (CIs) or hearing aids, they often can't learn the language fully. Additionally, not all children fulfil the requirements to have surgery to receive cochlear implants.

 

Children start to learn the languages they are exposed to at birth – be it sign languages or spoken languages. After the first few years of life, the window for first language acquisition slowly starts to close, and it becomes increasingly more challenging to learn the language fully. We want to respond to this need for language acquisition (either spoken or sign language) of deaf children and establish effective family communication. We achieve this by educating and empowering all family members – parents, siblings, and grandparents of deaf or hard-of-hearing children – through a family learning approach so that they can provide an inclusive, nurturing, and anxiety-free environment for early childhood development.
 

By providing the necessary tools, we will create resilient, empowered, and equipped families, enhance language acquisition and
positive self-image of deaf children. We will equip adult educators with new skills, competencies, and confidence to deliver training and create a more inclusive society.

Project Objectives and Results:

Our main aim is to strengthen language skills and communication competencies and enhance resilience of hearing family members of deaf children by offering them the necessary educational tools. Our international team of partners will work together to provide parents with the following educational materials:

1) Family Learning Toolkit - that supports hearing families with deaf children with language acquisition of spoken and sign languages.

In several videos and three illustration books, we provide language learning resources and want to offer deaf children representation without focusing on problems they might face. 

Children should learn that deaf people are more than a disability. They can lead meaningful lives and have many friends and talents, regardless of their having technological aids.

2) E-Learning course for parents - that provides a flexible set of educational, training, and information material for autonomously learning about deafness, sign languages, and social inclusion in a self-directed way.

In five modules, all family members learn about everything that is important when having a deaf child. Starting with how the ear works, communication using sign languages, dealing with your new situation, the topic of social inclusion and how you can advocate for a deaf family member, to how to do all this learning together as a family.

3) In-service Training Programme for Adult Educators - that teaches them how to fully harness the SILENT educational resources' potential and motivate parent-to-parent support using the SILENT E-Learning platform.

Partner:

Coordinator: InterAktion - Verein für ein interkulturelles Zusammenleben, Austria

Zavod 13 - Slovenia 

CSI CENTER FOR SOCIAL INNOVATION LTD, Cyprus

Humanost - North Macedonia

Rightchallenge - Portugal
Parents International - The Netherlands

Project Number: KA220-ADU-0E33F470

Project Duration:  1.11.2022 - 28.02.2025

EN Co-funded by the EU_POS.jpg
This publication has been funded with support from the European Commission. The authors alone are responsible for the content of this publication; the Commission shall not be held responsible for any further use that may be made of the information contained therein.
bottom of page

top of page
Black And White Round Border Signature Logo.png

Stärkung der Sprach- und KommunIkationskompetenzen und Förderung der ResiLienz hörENder ElTern gehörloser Kinder.

Obwohl mehr als 90 % der gehörlosen Kinder hörende Eltern haben, wird diese Gruppe oftmals übersehen. Wir wollen Familien in dieser Situation unterstützen und Bewusstsein schaffen für die Probleme, mit denen gehörlose Kinder und ihre Familien zu kämpfen haben.

Die Eltern brauchen Rat, Informationen und müssen neue Fähigkeiten erlernen. Besonders in den ersten Monaten nach der Diagnose ihres Kindes mit Gehörlosigkeit oder Schwerhörigkeit, stehen sie oft allein da. Die Informationen, die sie erhalten, haben einen erheblichen Einfluss auf die kognitive und psychosoziale Gesundheit der Kinder in ihrem späteren Leben. Gehörlose Kinder sind in der Schule oft benachteiligt, weil ihnen eine solide sprachliche Grundlage fehlt. Viele gehörlose Kinder wachsen nur mit Lautsprachen auf, aber selbst wenn sie technische Hilfsmittel wie Cochlea- Implantate (CIs) oder Hörgeräte verwenden, können sie die Sprache oft nicht vollständig erlernen. Außerdem erfüllen nicht alle Kinder die Voraussetzungen für eine Operation zum Einsetzen von Cochlea- Implantaten. Kinder lernen von Geburt an die Sprachen, mit denen sie in Kontakt kommen - seien es Gebärdensprachen oder gesprochene Sprachen. Nach den ersten Lebensjahren schließt sich das Fenster für den Erstspracherwerb langsam, und es wird immer schwieriger, die Sprache vollständig zu erlernen.

Wir wollen auf dieses Bedürfnis des Spracherwerbs (sei es in Laut- oder Gebärdensprachen) bei gehörlosen Kindern eingehen und eine effektive Kommunikation in der Familie ermöglichen.
Wir erreichen dies, indem wir alle Familienmitglieder – Eltern, Geschwister und Großeltern – von gehörlosen oder schwerhörigen Kindern durch einen familienorientierten Ansatz schulen und ihnen so die Möglichkeit geben, ein integratives, förderndes und angstfreies Umfeld für die frühkindliche Entwicklung zu schaffen.

 

Durch die Bereitstellung der erforderlichen Materialien werden wir resiliente, gestärkte und vorbereitete Familien geschaffen, die den Spracherwerb und das positive Selbstbild ihrer gehörlosen Kinder fördern.
Wir werden außerdem Erwachsenenbildner*innen mit neuen Fähigkeiten, Kompetenzen und Selbstvertrauen ausstatten, um Schulungen
durchzuführen und eine integrative Gesellschaft zu schaffen.

Projektziele und Ergebnisse:

Unser Hauptziel ist es, Sprach- und Kommunikationskompetenzen zu stärken und die Belastbarkeit hörender Familienmitglieder von gehörlosen Kindern zu erhöhen, indem wir ihnen die notwendigen pädagogischen Hilfsmittel zur Verfügung stellen.

Unser internationales Team von Partnern wird zusammenarbeiten, um den Eltern die folgenden Bildungsmaterialien bereitzustellen:

1) Family Learning Toolkit - das hörende Familien mit gehörlosen Kindern beim Spracherwerb von Laut- und Gebärdensprachen unterstützt.

In mehreren Videos und drei Bilderbüchern stellen wir Sprachlernressourcen zur Verfügung und wollen gehörlosen Kindern Repräsentation bieten, ohne dabei den Fokus auf Probleme zu legen. 

Dadurch sollen Kinder lernen, dass gehörlose Menschen mehr sind als eine Behinderung und ein erfülltes Leben mit Freunden und Talenten haben können – egal ob mit oder ohne technischen Hilfsmitteln.

2) E-Learning-Kurs für Eltern - der flexible Bildungs-, Schulungs- und Informationsmaterialien bietet, um selbständig und in Eigenregie etwas über Gehörlosigkeit, Gebärdensprachen und soziale Integration zu lernen. In fünf Modulen lernt die ganze Familie alles, was wichtig ist, wenn man ein gehörloses Kind hat.

Angefangen bei der Funktionsweise des Ohres, über die Kommunikation mit Gebärdensprachen, den Umgang mit der neuen Situation, das Thema soziale Integration und wie man sich für ein gehörloses Familienmitglied einsetzen kann, bis hin zum gemeinsamen Lernen in der Familie.

3) Fortbildungsprogramm für Erwachsenenpädagog*innen - das ihnen beibringt, wie sie das Potenzial der SILENT-Bildungsressourcen voll ausschöpfen und die peer-to-peer Unterstützung von Eltern mit Hilfe unserer E-Learning-Plattform inspirieren können. 

Partner:

Koordinator: InterAktion - Verein für ein interkulturelles Zusammenleben, Austria

Zavod 13 - Slovenia 

CSI CENTER FOR SOCIAL INNOVATION LTD, Cyprus

Humanost - North Macedonia

Rightchallenge - Portugal
Parents International - The Netherlands

Projektnummer: KA220-ADU-0E33F470

Projektlaufzeit:  1.11.2022 - 28.02.2025

EN Co-funded by the EU_POS.jpg
Diese Veröffentlichung wurde mit Unterstützung der Europäischen Kommission finanziert. Die Verantwortung für den Inhalt dieser Veröffentlichung tragen alleine die Verfasserinnen und Verfasser; die Kommission haftet nicht für die weitere Verwendung der darin enthaltenen Angaben.
bottom of page